Alvin H. Crawford Mentoring Award


The J. Robert Gladden Orthopaedic Society is now accepting nominations for the 2020 Alvin H. Crawford Mentoring Award.The Alvin H. Crawford Mentoring Award embodies all the characteristics of Dr. Alvin H. Crawford who is a distinguished orthopaedic surgeon, seasoned clinician, dedicated teacher and devoted scientist. For many years Dr. Crawford tirelessly guided students, residents and fellows on the road to careers as successful orthopaedic surgeons. Each year, JRGOS honors a surgeon who has supported and guided an individual in the same remarkable way as Dr. Crawford.

To nominate someone for the Alvin H. Crawford Mentoring Award, please send an email to providing the name of your nominee and include the reasons you believe this JRGOS member has made a lasting impact on your career and the orthopaedic community.


Deadline for Nominations: December 11, 2019



Past Recipients of the Alvin H. Crawford Mentoring Award:

2019- Valerie O. Lewis, MD

2018- Eric W. Carson, MD

2017 – Bonnie Simpson-Mason, MD

2016 – Robert H. Wilson, MD

2015 – Raymond O. Pierce Jr., MD

2014 – Toni McLaurin, MD

2013 – Clarence L. Shields Jr., MD

2012 – Cato T. Laurencin, MD

2011 – Anthony T. Fenison, MD

2010 – George V. Russell, Jr., MD

2009 – Richard E. Grant, MD

2008 – Eleby R. Washington, MD

2007 – Felasfa M. Wodajo, MD

2006 – William T. Long, MD

2005 – Charles H. Epps, MD

2004 – Claudia L. Thomas, MD

2001 – Larry T. Johnson, MD and Charles D. Mitchell. MD